Home > Deep Reflective Stuff > Why do we do what we do?

Why do we do what we do?


Hello and welcome to my blog.  It will be filled with the musing and random thoughts that make up the oddness of my internal world. 

For example…

The reason we make any decision we do is because it seemed like a good idea at the time.  Afterall, we probably wouldn’t do it if we knew it was stupid.  Why did I take that job?  Why did I marry that person?  Why did I punch that wall?  It all boils down to it seemed like a good idea at the time.

The decisions we make change the course of our lives, for better or worse.  When I was about to start college, I couldn’t decide if I wanted to be a lawyer or a therapist .  My genius thinking was to take Political Science 100 and Psychology 101 and see which I liked more.  Psycho 101 was taught by a quirky, entertaining man and the subject matter was interesting.  Poli Sci was taught by a nasty professor who seemed to delight in humiliating his students.  I answered a question (my first ever in college) and he responded “No, that’s wrong.  In fact that’s the most stupid thing I ever heard.”  Well that was the end of that!  There was no way I was going to spend the next four years putting up with that jerk! 

Just like that the decision was made.  I became a human service worker and have been in the field for over 20 years.  I am now the program director for the Manchester office of a non-profit called Community Enterprises, Inc.  I run three vocational programs that help people with disabilities train for and find work.  It’s very rewarding, but also very grueling.  But on the upside, the pay sucks…

Who knows… if Poli Sci had been taught by a cute young professor who thought my answer was brilliant I would have become a lawyer and be on my way to being the first woman President of the United States.  Why did I go into human services instead?

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Categories: Deep Reflective Stuff Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

