Home > Entertainment > Who got voted off the first Survivor of the new season?

Who got voted off the first Survivor of the new season?


As I sat here watching the first episode of the new season of Survivor, several things struck me.  First of all, in the whole “Young versus Old” thing, I would be on the Old team.  I loved it when one of the youngins’ called them the “Antiques” although I find the idea of being an antique more than a little disturbing.

In the first tribal council, the Fossils had to vote off one of their own.  It seemed to be between Wendie Jo and NFL coach Jimmy Johnson.  Personally I think Wendie was digging her own grave with every syllable she spoke.  She even seemed to be aware of it as she talked.  Wendie probably thought that her non-stop chatter was a good idea at the time, but clearly she was mistaken.  In her closing speech she expressed regret about how she played and the decision “not to be herself.”  But at tribal council she was herself and look what happened. 

I used to think about applying for Survivor, but I’m not sure how I would have done.  Like Wendie Jo, I would have a difficult time pretending to be someone I’m not.  As uncomfortable as I am in my own skin at times, my goofiness can not be denied.  If nothing else, it’s too tiring to pretend.  Much like lying, it takes too much effort which is why I seldom bother with either.  Hopefully in my case tribe mates would find my odd sense of humor and quirky ability to do accents endearing.  In the case of Wendie Jo, it was just plain annoying. 

In the end, did the Antique tribe make the right choice by voting off  Wendie Jo?  Did she have some special hidden talent that could have changed the course of the game?  Now Wendie is gone and they will never know.  But…

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Categories: Entertainment Tags:
  1. September 21, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who roots for the Antiques! Welcome to the blog world.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

