A leap of faith


A leap of faith.  We’ve all heard the phrase, but what does it really mean to take a leap of faith?  What immediately comes to mind for me is the scene in “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade”.  Indy reaches the “Leap from the Lion’s Head” in which he has to take a step off a cliff into a seemingly bottomless chasm.  Only after taking that first step does he discover, much to his relief, that it was an optical illusion.  There was actually a sturdy bridge there which he safely crossed.

Of course before taking his leap of faith, Harrison Ford had the benefit of reading the script.  The rest of us unfortunately don’t get that convenient little heads up.  Of course if we got to look ahead it wouldn’t really be much of a test, would it?

So when you take a leap of faith, in whom do you place that faith?  God?  The other person or thing to whom you are leaping?  Yourself?  Or is it “D – all of the above”.  For those who have a solid base in spirituality, religion, or whatever term best describes it for you, the leap is probably not that scary.  Faith can be like a comfy blanky that protects you from the cold.  For those who have either a less all-encompassing  or non-existent faith the task can be a little more daunting. 

For me, having faith in myself is key.  It is not something that I have always had.  For many years I was not the president of my fan club.  Hell, for a long time I wasn’t even a member!  What office I currently hold depends on the day.  Sometimes it’s a high office… other times I’m the janitor.  That faith in self can be bolstered by a higher power, but it doesn’t have to be. 

I used to think that I needed someone to take care of me.  Once upon a time I thought that if I didn’t have a man to take care of me I would wither away.  It’s been a long journey for me but I’m proud to say that it is no longer the case.  Now having someone to take care of me occasionally is nice; after all, who wants to have to be on top of everything all the time.  But it is no longer required for living.  Once I discovered that I could take care of myself regardless of my circumstances, I was never quite so frightened again.     

At least now if I take a leap of faith I know I will land on my feet.  The question is more how hard will I land and will I break an ankle when I do?  So standing at the crossroads to which I refered in my last entry, to one side I see a safe little cabin.  The lights are on inside and a fire is going in the hearth.  It’s cozy and safe, but small and a little boring.  The other side of the crossroad leads to a cliff.  As I stand at the Lion’s Head like Indiana Jones, I too put my hand on my heart and take that step.  

Is it a good idea?  I don’t know but…

It seems like a good idea at this time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

